All State Bar Members are asked to login to the “Membership Portal” to verify their contact information. Please go to https://www.mywvbar.org/members/profile and login to confirm your information before May 20, 2016.
MCLE Reporting Period
The current reporting period began July 1, 2014, and will end
June 30, 2016. There is a 30-day grace period so credits completed in the month of July may be carried back to meet the 2014-2016 requirement. As long as all required credits are completed and filed by July 31, 2016, there is no penalty. Credits filed after July 31, 2016, will require a $50 late filing fee. Credits filed after September 30, 2016, will require a $100 late filing fee.
Please login to www.mywvbar.org and download your transcript. Reporting period dates and requirements are listed on the top of transcripts. Please be advised that we have attempted to delete all duplicate entries. If you have a duplicate entry or if any of your credits need to be edited, please contact email@example.com at firstname.lastname@example.org. If you do not have a password for www.mywvbar.org, please click here to request a new password.
CLE Sponsor Responsibilities
The CLE Commission has directed sponsors to electronically report live attendance and webinar credits earned by WV State Bar members. If the Commission receives credits from a sponsor, you will receive an e-mail asking you to confirm completion details of the course credits. Please keep in mind it is the responsibility of each attorney to ensure that all credits are properly reported. Therefore, if a sponsor does not report your credits, you will need to self-report your credits through the member portal.
The State Bar is requesting that all CLE providers report attendance credits online at www.mywvbar.org. To get a course approved for WV credit sponsors can register online and make the request online.
For more information for CLE Sponsors – Click Here
Annual Professional Limited Liability (PLLC) Organization Renewals
In order to insure that your PLLC is in compliance with the laws of The State of West Virginia, you need to file an annual renewal application with The State Bar. Any change in the corporate organization from the prior year must be reported. COPIES OF CURRENT CERTIFICATES OF INSURANCE ARE REQUIRED. Every PLLC must also register an email address.
If your organization renewed online previously click here to login. PLLC Annual Renewals were due by July 1, 2016. If you have questions concerning PLLC reporting requirements contact Anita R. Casey at 304-553-7228 or email@example.com. If you have questions concerning the process for online filing contact Mike Mellace at 304-553-7223 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Judicial Benchbook for Child Abuse and Neglect Proceedings
CIP also published an online Juvenile Law Guide this year, available at this link. The guide gives an overview of West Virginia juvenile law and court procedures. It is intended to provide a framework for understanding the state’s juvenile justice system and to be a training tool for juvenile justice system personnel, law enforcement, students, and the public. Questions? Contact Nikki Tennis at Nikki.Tennis@courtswv.gov.
May 14, 2016
Mountain State Bar Association Annual Meeting
Host: Mountain State Bar Association
Location: Bluefield, WV at Fincastle Country Club
Questions? Contact Cheryl Henderson at email@example.com
The Federal Public Defender for the Southern District of WV, Charleston, is accepting applications for the position of Assistant Federal Public Defender. For the complete job description, go to the "Career Services" tab on the WV State Bar's website. ... See MoreSee Less