The West Virginia State Bar Young Lawyers Section

OF THE YEAR AWARD

Past Award Recipients

2018	Dominique L. Razzook
2017	Lara Omps-Botteicher
2016	Lauren Marie Twigg Krupica
2015	Shannon Smith
2014	Katy Cimino
2013	Jasmine Morton
2012	Jennifer Singletary
2011	Matthew P. Kingery
2010	Melissa Settles Watkins

Nomination Procedure

The criteria for this award are necessarily broad. Along with professional achievements, the selection committee will consider a wide range of public service, e.g., volunteer work, pro bono representation, legislative efforts and service in the public sector. This award should go to the person or group whose efforts have best promoted the advancement of the administration of justice and the protection of the interests of the public. The other requirements for the award are the attorney must be licensed to practice law in West Virginia, have been licensed for no more than 10 years or be 35 years of age or younger and possess outstanding qualities that include, but are not limited to, professional proficiency and service to the profession and community.

Nominations should include:

- 1. The name, address and telephone number of the person or entity nominated.
- 2. A narrative statement describing the individual's or group's service contributions.
- 3. A brief biographical account of the nominee's legal career or a brief description of the group.
- 4. A brief statement including examples explaining why this person or group should receive this award.
- 5. The identity of the person making the nomination.

Nominations may include letters of recommendation and any other relevant information.

Selection Process

The Young Lawyer of the Year Committee will consider all outstanding qualities of each nominee in making its recommendation to the YLS Executive Committee. The Executive Committee of the Young Lawyers Section will select a recipient for the Young Lawyer of the Year Award from qualified nominees submitted for consideration.

Nominations must be received by February 11, 2019.

Nominations should be sent by mail to: The West Virginia State Bar/ Young Lawyer of the Year Award 2000 Deitrick Boulevard Charleston, WV 25311

Or by email at caseya@wvbar.org.

The Young Lawyer of the Year Award will be presented at the 2019 Meeting and Banquet of the West Virginia State Bar held at the Embassy Suites by Hilton in Charleston on Sunday, April 7, 2019.