NOMINATE A MEMBER OF THE STATE BAR FOR THE

# **CITIZEN SOLDIER AWARD** 2016

Past Award Recipients:

- 2015 Lieutenant Colonel Christian M. Capece West Virginia Air National Guard
- 2014 First Lieutenant Daniel K. Armstrong West Virginia Army National Guard
- 2013 Lieutenant Colonel Kelly Ambrose, West Virginia Army National Guard Staff Judge Advocate
- 2012 Major Shayne M. Welling, West Virginia Army National Guard
- 2011 Major J.C. "Max" Wilkinson, West Virginia Army National Guard
- **2010** Captain Scott E. Johnson, U.S. Army Reserve.
- 2009 Colonel Charles T. Miller (retired), Air National Guard Judge Advocate General
  2008 LCDR Jefferson L. Triplett,
- Navy Reserve Officer
- 2007 The Honorable W. Craig Broadwater (deceased), U.S. District Court Judge and Brigadier General, West Virginia Army National Guard
- 2006 Captain Brian Abraham, U.S. Army Reserve Judge Advocate Corps

### Award Process -

A three-person Committee, selected by The West Virginia State Bar, reviews nominations from members of The Bar. Nominations must:

- I. Provide the candidate's rank, branch of service and service history, including exemplary actions, awards and honors.
- II. Provide a brief biographical account of the nominee's legal career.
- III. Explain why the candidate merits the Award.

Nominations may also include letters of recommendation or any other relevant information.

# All nominations must be received by March 7, 2016

Nominations should be sent to: The West Virginia State Bar/Citizen Soldier Award 2000 Deitrick Boulevard Charleston, WV 25311 or email caseya@wvbar.org

The Citizen Soldier Award will be presented at the 2016 Annual Conference and Meeting Banquet of The West Virginia State Bar at The Greenbrier on Sunday, April 3. The Young Lawyers Section of The West Virginia State Bar sponsors an annual award to honor an outstanding young lawyer who has brought honor and distinction to the legal profession through a commitment to community service and the citizens of West Virginia.

## The West Virginia State Bar Young Lawyers Section

## Criteria:

The criteria for this award are necessarily broad. Along with professional achievements, the selection committee will consider a wide range of public service, e.g., volunteer work, *pro bono* representation, legislative efforts and service in the public sector. This award should go to the person or group whose efforts have best promoted the advancement of the administration of justice and the protection of the interests of the public. The other requirements for the award are the attorney must:

OF THE YEAR AWARD

- 1. Be licensed to practice law in West Virginia.
  - 2. Have been licensed for no more than 10 years or be 35 years of age or younger.
    - 3. Possess outstanding qualities that include, but are not profession and service to the community.

#### Nomination Procedure:

Nominations may be made by any individual, group of individuals or organization and must be submitted to the Young Lawyers Section for consideration. Nominations should include the identity of the person/ entity making the nomination, the name, address and telephone number of the person nominated as well as a narrative statement describing the individual's service contributions. Letters of recommendation are also welcome.

#### **Selection Process:**

The Young Lawyer of the Year Committee will consider all outstanding qualities of each nominee in making its recommendation to the YLS Executive Committee. The Executive Committee of the Young Lawyers Section will select a recipient for the Young Lawyer of the Year Award from qualified nominees submitted for consideration.

# All nominations must be received by March 7, 2016.

Nominations should be sent to:

The West Virginia State Bar/Young Lawyer of the Year Award 2000 Deitrick Boulevard Charleston, WV 25311

or email caseya@wvbar.org

The Young Lawyer of the Year Award will be presented at the 2016 West Virginia State Bar Annual Conference and Meeting Banquet at The Greenbrier on Sunday, April 3. Katherine Jo McLay Wade Ross Midkiff Marc Francis Mignault Marianne Demega Monthe Katherine Marie Moore Evangelia Marina Moreno Aaron David Moss Johnie Rush Muncy Barry Alan Naum Thomas Olik Nicholas Paul Parker Patrick Wayne Parsons Kelly Galen Pawlowski Robert Joseph Peters **Robert James Pevler** Courtney Marie Planté **Taylor David Potts** Jennifer Brooke Pritchard Drew Alan Proudfoot Ashley Nichole Quaranta Justin Mathew Raber Mitchell John Rhein Kira Michelle Rivera Andrew Carver Robey Tyler Scott Rohrbaugh Paul Aloysius Roman, Jr. Elena Leah Rorabaugh Sophie Libby Rosenberg

PA Pittsburgh Ona WV WV Charleston WV Morgantown WV Shepherdstown PA Pittsburgh Morgantown WV Richmond VA PA Mechanicsburg WV Dunbar Morgantown WV WV Parkersburg WV Princeton Romnev WV Fairmont WV WV Morgantown Morgantown WV Branchland WV Morgantown WV Kenova WV WV St. Marys WV Charleston Pittsburgh PA \//\/ Charleston Keyser WV Pittsburgh PA PA Pittsburgh Charleston WV Debra Lynn Rusnak Shaun Sumner Russell Andrew Scott Rvan Michael Aaron Ryan Marcus Bentley Schneider Erin Leigh Shaver Kathleen Colborn Siegrist W. Russell Sipes **Donald Harold Smith** Stephen Frederick Soltis Jorene Soto **Brooks Holton Spears** Michael James Spooner Jeffrey Michael Stacko Emily Elizabeth Stamper David Ray Stone II Camron Barrett Tenney Jason William Turner **Devon Thomas Unger** Paige Kasmier Vagnetti **Travis Wayne Vance** Donnice Francesca Wagoner Zara Akram Wallace Tania Wang Todd Joseph Weatherholt Ryan William Weld Sarah Joelle Willetts Alex Jeffrey Zurbuch

WV Pinch Charleston WV Charleston \//\/ Charleston WV Pittsburgh PA Barboursville WV Charleston WV Indianapolis IN Sewickley PA Huntington WV Charleston WV Vienna VA WV Morgantown Pittsburgh PA Centerville OH Morgantown WV Buckhannon WV Morgantown \//\/ Morgantown WV Morgantown WV NC Charlotte WV Huntington Morgantown WV PA Pittsburgh Cloverport KY Wellsburg WV LaVale MD WV Charleston

The West Virginia State Bar Young Lawyers Section

The Young Lawyers' Executive Committee is currently taking nominations for its Mentor of the Year Award. This award is meant to honor a seasoned lawyer who has provided mentorship and guidance to young lawyers.

#### Nomination Procedure:

Nominations may be made by any young lawyer who would like to nominate his or her mentor, or by anyone who knows a lawyer who commits his or her time to helping young lawyers transition into the practice of law. Nominations should include the name and address of the nominee and a brief statement regarding why you believe this person is a great mentor.

All nominations must be received by March 7, 2016.

Nominations should be sent to:

The West Virginia State Bar/Mentor of the Year Award 2000 Deitrick Boulevard Charleston, WV 25311

OF THE YEAR AWARD

or email caseya@wvbar.org

The Mentor of the Year Award will be presented at the 2016 Annual Conference and Meeting Banquet of the West Virginia State Bar held at The Greenbrier on Sunday, April 3.